School Clubs

Club Description Teacher/Contact
Math Counts Club Students wishing to become a better thinker and solvers of mathematics. We compete with other middle schools in a math competition. Club members meet on Wednesdays from 3:30 to 4:30 in room C209 (except on Collaborative Planning Days) Ashley Seats; aseats@lexington1.net; Allee Mathis; amathis@lexington1.net
Jr. Beta Club Students must make a 90 or higher in every class. The mission of the Jr. Beta Club is to promote ideals of academic achievement, character, service, and leadership among elementary and secondary schools. We require at least 3 hours per semester of community service. New students invited in the first nine weeks. Rachel Cooper, rlcooper@lexington1.net
Gator LOCC The Gator LOCC Club is open to all students and is designed to promote an alcohol and drug free lifestyle. Gator LOCC Club meets on the 4th Thursday morning of each month (dates subject to change due to holidays-will be listed on the morning announcements), 7:30-8:00 in the 8th Grade House. The Gator LOCC Leadership team will meet on the 2nd Thursday morning of each month, 7:30-8:00 in Counseling Center. Davis Myers, dmyers@lexington1.net
FCA Christian based get-together. Inspirational Speakers. Students lead games, music and outreach opportunities for staff members and the student body. Meetings are open to anyone and everyone, not just athletes. Friday mornings, 7:35-8:05am in the auditorium Ryan Miles, June Collins; rmiles@lexington1.net
District Art Students have to audition with other students in the district and if selected the student will participate in the program at MGM doing projects that selected students across the district will also be doing at their respective schools.There are 18 students selected from each middle school to participate. There is no cost to the students. Tuesdays in the art room from 3:45-5:15 beginning the end of October (date not exact yet) Jana Gardner jjgardner@lexington1.net . students meet at Meadow Glen Elementary School
Elite Dance Team Students with extensive dance studio experience can audition for this group in May for the following year. Jazz, hip-hop, and contemporary experience reqiured. Performs at school events, District Dance events, Dancing with the Teachers and MGM Dance Showcases. Available for grades 6-8. Tuesday 3:30-4:30 and Wednesday 3:30-5:00 in MGM Dance Room. Fees required. Megan Viazanko; mviazanko@lexington1.net Kara Corley; kccorley@lexington1.net
Spring Performance Company: Contemporary Dance Available for grades 6-8. Students with little to no prior dance experience necessary/required. Auditions are held in January. Performs at Dancing with Teachers Intermission, District Dance Showcase and the Spring Dance Showcase. Thursday 3:30-4:30 in MGM Dance Room. Fees required. Megan Viazanko; mviazanko@lexington1.net Kara Corley; kccorley@lexington1.net
Fall Performance Company: Hip-Hop Dance Available for 6-8th graders. Little to no prior dance experience necessary/required. Auditions are in September. Performs at one basketball game, a school pep rally, and the Fall Dance Showcase in November. Thursdays 3:30-4:30 in the MGM Dance Room. Fees required. Megan Viazanko; mviazanko@lexington1.net Kara Corley kccorley@lexington1.net
Honor Choir Grades 6-8 may audition for this award-winning, competitive ensemble. Students who are selected should be prepared for quickly paced rehearsals, exciting music making opportunities, travel, and close friendships within the ensemble. Auditions take place at the beginning and end of the fall semester. This is a great opportunity for those who hope to refine their musicianship and prepare for great music making in high school and other performance opportunities. Honor Choir meets Tuesdays and Thursdays from 7:15am to 8:05am. Augusto Gil; agil@lexington1.net
Robotics Open to 7th & 8th female and male students; tryouts are held in May and open to rising 7th and 8th graders. Learn to code a Lego Mindstorm robot, invent solutions for real world problems, and have crazy fun on a team. We have 4 teams at MGM and meet . Meet Mondays 3:30-5pm with competitions are on one Saturday in November and December. Cliff Roberts & Amy Dent; cjroberts@lexington1.net, adent@lexington1.net
Archery Team Available for all 6-8th graders. Try-outs are in October. Meets afterschool twice a week. Stephen Harmon; srharmon@lexington1.net
MGMS Book Club This club is for those students who love books and reading and want to spread the word about books. Meetings: Tuesday mornings, 7:35 – 8:05 in the Learning Commons. Lauren Black; lblack@lexington1.net
Anime Club Come join us on Friday mornings in the Learning Commons as we talk about Anime/Manga! We talk about the culture, art style, and multiple series in the world of Anime/Manga.
Lauren Black; lblack@lexington1.net
Girls on the Run For 6th, 7th, and 8th grade girls. This club learns communication and collaboration skills while also training for a 5k in April. Registration starts in January. Rebecca Fischer; rfischer@lexington1.net
Be a Fan Club Be a Fan Club focuses on Special Olympic events, acceptance, and building relationships with all students. Open to all students 6-8th grade with application and teacher recommendations. We will begin meeting during SLT on Tuesdays. Anna Stackhouse; astackhouse@lexington1.net or Jennifer Grant jgrant@lexington1.net
Run Hard Open to 6-8 grade girls and boys. This eight week program is offered in the fall and spring. Students will train twice a week for a culminating 5K. Students will train to run, and have lessons provided to build character. Matt Bonte; mbonte@lexington1.net
Chess Club Available on Tuesday Mornings at 7:30 in A103. 6th, 7th, and 8th grade students are welcome. No experience required. 6th grade only on Wednesdays during lunch. Claire Calcina; ccalcina@lexington1.net
Spring Stock Market Game Club In the Spring on Wednesday mornings before school. Students will be in teams of 3-5 and will invest a virtual $100,000 in the stock market. This is a statewide competition; the top 3 teams in the state will be recognized at the state level. Megan Freiburger mfreiburger@lexington1.net
Tap Team Available for grades 6-8. Students with at least two years tap experience can audition. Auditions will be held around Winter Break. Performs at the Spring Dance Showcase. Monday 3:30-4:30 Allee Mathis; amathis@lexington1.net
Honors Theatre Open to any MGM student who is interested in building their theatre skills, collaborating with others and having fun! This group represents MGM at a statewide theatre competition in the spring. Auditions are held after spring break each year and no prior experience is required. We meet after school as a whole group. Our 8th grader Honors Theatre students lead morning annoucements each day. We’d love to have you! Rachel Cooper, rlcooper@lexington1.net
Sports
Football For students in 7-8 grade. Tryouts: first week of August. See coach for summer workout schedule Ben Jackson – bjackson@lexington1.net
Volleyball For female students in 7-8 grade. Tryouts: first week in August Rebecca Fischer; rfischer@lexington1.net
Girls Basketball For female students in 7-8 grade.Tryouts: end of October Patrick Burnett; pburnett@lexington1.net
Boys Basketball For male students in 7-8 grade. Tryouts: end of October Brandon Taylor; bctaylor@lexington1.net
Cheerleading For female students in 7-8 grade; students can try-out for Middle school team, RBHS JVteam, and RBHS Varisty team. Tryouts: end of April Kiki Wooley; kwooley@lexington1.net
Track and Field For students in 7-8 grade. Tryouts: early February Amanda Kerbis; akerbis@lexington1.net
Women’s Soccer Students in 7-8 grade may try out for the RBHS JV team. Tryouts: end of January Abby Chisholm; achisholm@lexington1.net
Men’s Soccer Students in 7-8 grade may try out for the RBHS JV team. Information meeting in October, tryouts: end of January Phillip Thomas; pthomas@lexington1.net
Baseball Students in 7-8 grade may try out for the RBHS B team. Tryouts: early February Mark Bonnette, RBHS; mbonnette@lexington1.net
Softball Students in 7-8 grade may try out for the RBHS team. Tryouts: end of January
Women’s Golf Students in 7-8 grade may try out for the RBHS team. Tryouts:early August Roger Smith, RBHS; rmsmith@lexington1.net
Men’s Golf Students in 7-8 grade may try out for the RBHS team. Tryouts: early February Roger Smith, RBHS; rmsmith@lexington1.net
Women’s Tennis Students in 7-8 grade may try out for the RBHS team. Tryouts: first week of August Brian Lim, RBHS; blim@lexington1.net
Men’s Tennis Students in 7-8 grade may try out for the RBHS team. Tryouts: first week of February Brian Lim, RBHS; blim@lexington1.net
Women’s Cross Country Students in 7-8 grade may try out for the RBHS team. Information meeting in May, conditioning throughout summer. Cameron Starr, RBHS; cstarr@lexington1.net
Men’s Cross Country Students in 7-8 grade may try out for the RBHS team. Information meeting in May, conditioning throughout summer Derek Gomez, RBHS; dgomez@lexington1.net
Wrestling Students in 7-8 grade may try out for the RBHS team. Clinic in September, interest meeting in October Joe Cummings, RBHS; jcummings@lexington1.net
Women’s Lacrosse Students in 7-8 grade may try out for the RBHS team. Conditioning in November, tryouts mid-late January. Jenna Budd, RBHS, jbudd@lexington1.net
Men’s Lacrosse Students in 7-8 grade may try out for the RBHS team. Information meeting and conditioning in September Jordan Adams, RBHS; jadams@lexington1.net